Artist Robert ‘Rob’ Castillo wants to write book called ‘Art Saved My Life’?

Tuesday, June 24, 2008 — by Wow Jones

Newspapers often are on the hunt for human-interest stories.  These are anecdotal, whimsical, inspiring, emotional, stories that hopefully presents people and their problems or stories in such a way that brings about interest or sympathy from a reader.   It’s a time-honored tactic to gain readers.  In…

Tuesday’s June 17, 2008 issue of The NY Daily News  Big Town Big Dreams section, Claire Levenson profiled Robert “Rob” Castillo, an artist/animator from The Dominican Repubican whose talent has taken him places.  The Big Town Big Dreams section of The NY Daily News features stories about immigrant New Yorkers and shares their experiences, hopes and dreams in this town.

The story gives info on Rob’s background and details the success he’s had with the film, “S.P.I.C. The Storyboard Of My Life”, a short he drew/directed/etc while a student at Manhattan’s School Of Visual Arts.  “S.P.I.C. The Storyboard of My Life” went on to win a few awards, including a Student Academy Award

 

 

The photo below is of Pete Docter and Robert ‘Rob’ Castillo.  Pete’s the director of Pixar’s Monsters Inc.  This is after Rob won a Student Academy Award for his short   S.P.I.C. The Storyboard Of My Life.

 

Rob’s got a lot of mileage out of this story and it was nice to see him featured in another story.  (FULL DISCLOSURE: Rob and I are pals.  I met him in 2003.  He’s a great guy.)  He’s been doing this long enough to have his arsenal of amusing and inspiring anecdotes ready for interviews.    😉

–The Wow Jones Report

 

 

One Response to “Artist Robert ‘Rob’ Castillo wants to write book called ‘Art Saved My Life’?”

  1. Wow Jones! Thank you very much for this post on me! I appreciate it!

    R. Castillo

Leave a Reply

